Purging Old Notebooks

I’ve kept a notebook for years now.  Several, in fact.  Some are barely holding up now, with scraps of paper hanging out all sides, deformed and watermarked from use.  These notebooks contain every lyric I’ve ever written, but what of the rest?  I intend to make this a regular part of my blog, as I purge these pages for prose and poems that never made it into a melody.

Rip-off

     These ideas I have about art.  Art as life, a beauty within one’s soul.  These words I arrange, pretensiousness inherent, believing I can change minds, behaviors, social consciousness and be the shoulders the next generation will stand upon.  My precious art… Original art.

     I wonder if I am a copy of greater men, simply writing what has gone before.  A rehash.  I’ve ripped them off and stripped the bones of some long-dead poet’s soul.  I pore over notebooks wasting ink and paper to plagiarize and capitalize on others’ labor.

     All I can do is continue writing and pray I never have to answer for being a theif  an inadvertent theif of personal thoughts.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment